Native American Art Work

American Indian Studies

American Studies

Division: Social and Behavioral Sciences
MD 139-147
Palomar College
San Marcos, California

AIS/AMS Faculty and Staff

Alan Lechusza Aquallo (Luiseño/Maidu) Ph.D.  2009 – present
Dr. Lechusza Aquallo received a B.A. in Music from California State University, Long Beach,  an M.F.A. from University of California, Irvine and a Ph.D. in Critical Studies/Experimental Practices (CS/EP) focusing upon Native American Hip Hop, Identity and Native American contemporary culture from  the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Lechusza Aquallo’s academic focus is on Native/Indigenous music and the multi-media arts in addition to his work as a multi-genre composer and installation/performing artist. Email: aaquallo@palomar.edu

 

Patricia Ann Dixon, (Luiseño)  M.A. 1971 – present Department Chair

Ms. Dixon received a B.A. and a M.A. in History, with a minor in Religious Studies and Sociology at the University of San Diego. She is also a lecturer and consultant on the American Frontier and Indian History for local schools and colleges. Ms. Dixon has continued graduate studies in comparative religion, American Indian law and government.  Email: pdixon@palomar.edu

 

 

Deborah W. Dozier, Ph.D. 1996 – present

Dr. Dozier received her Ph. D. in Anthropology (2000) from University of California, Riverside (UCR). She also holds an MFA in Fiber Structure and Interlocking (1984) and an MFA in Museology (1990) from Syracuse University. She holds an MA in Anthropology (1997) from UCR. She worked for many years as a community organizer and as an activist working for social justice. She has done extensive research and field work in Southern California and in Baja California. Special research interests include the visual arts with an emphasis on textiles and basketry, ethnobotany, and Native technology. She has parallel interests in California Indian history and California Indian resistance movements.  Email: ddozier@palomar.edu

 

Seth San Juan (Yaqui), 2013 – present <ssanjuan@palomar.edu>

Seth San Juan received a B.A. in Political Science from the University of California, San Diego,  and an M.A. from the University of Arizona in American Indian Studies.  He is currently writing his dissertation in Ethnic Studies at the University of California, San Diego.  Some of his research interests include, Federal Indian Law, Borderlands, American Indian Education and Race and Ethnicity.

 

Linda Rose Locklear, (Catabwa/Lumbee) M.S. 1974 – 2012 Emeritus

Ms. Locklear received a B.A. from San Diego State University in Sociology with a minor in Anthropology. She received an M.S. at San Diego State University in Counseling and a M.A. in Sociology from the U. of California, San Diego. She is a consultant and lecturer on contemporary American Indian issues for schools and organizations.  Her research area is ethnographic and documentary film on American Indians.    Email: llocklear@palomar.edu

 

Steven J. Crouthamel, M.A.  1975 – 2011 Emeritus
Mr. Crouthamel received a B.A. in Anthropology from Raymond College, University of the Pacific, a M.A.T. in Education from the University of the Pacific and a M.A. in Medical Anthropology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. His research areas included Southeast Asia,  California, and rural North Carolina. In addition, he did research in Nutritional and Medical Anthropology. His current research interests include ethnobotany, indigenous knowledge, family history and genealogy.
Email: scrouthamel@palomar.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty :

Jared Aldern <jaldern@palomar.edu>

Riley Alegre <rmunin@palomar.edu>

Temet Aguilar (Luiseno/Diegueno) taguilar@palomar.edu, (760) 470-9344

Flora Howe (Shawnee) <fhowe@palomar.edu>

Juana Majel Dixon (Luiseño) <jmajel@aol.com>

Dr. Eric Elliot <eric@pechanga-nsn.gov>

Jennifer Garey <jgarey@palomar.edu>

Larry Lewis <llewis@palomar.edu>

Tracey Cook-Lee <tcook-lee@palomar.edu>

Richard Hosey (Choctaw) <rhosey@palomar.edu>

Dr. Jean Keller <jkeller@palomar.edu>

Henrietta Moore (Cherokee) <hmoore@palomar.edu>

Diana Ortiz (Chinook) <dortiz@palomar.edu>

Mark Vezzola <mvezzola@gmail.com>

Evangelina Franco (Yaqui) <yaquiflower@yahoo.com>

 

Staff:

Martha Collins, AIS,  Administrative Department Assistant <mcollins@palomar.edu>

Naida Garcia (Luiseño), American Indian Education Center Specialist <ngarcia@palomar.edu>

Calendar

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930