Palomar College Learning For Success

Gina Wilson, M.A.

Part-Time Faculty, Child Development
gwilson2@palomar.edu
Phone: 760-744-1150  x5046

Gina.2

Teaching Spring 2018:
CHDV 100 – Child Growth and Development
CHDV 115 – Child, Family, and Community

I was born and raised in Hemet with my parents and older sister. I was a very active child, I danced (including Dancing with the Stars Style with my neighbor as my partner). I was a competitive baton twirler starting at the age of 4. I also took piano lessons but I was not good at that at all. In High School I twirled for my school and I played on the tennis team. I always did very well in school and got along well with everyone.

When I was 16 I was in a car accident – hit by a drunk motorcyclist driving the wrong way down an expressway hitting my friends car head-on (I was riding shotgun). I fractured my back, leg, and ankle. I never had drank before that accident, and it further confirmed to me that I never wanted to. I did half of my senior year on home hospital (like homeschool) and never really liked high school again once I did return.

I started at San Diego State as a Liberal Studies major to be an Elementary school teacher. After taking my first child development class I changed my major to Child and Family Development. I was more interested in children under 5, and I knew I wouldn’t like all the politics involved in Elementary School. I paid my own way through college, so I worked 6 part-time jobs at a time. If I had a few hours free in my day, I look to see how I could fill it with work. I was a specialized reading tutor in Elementary schools, I tutored English and math privately, I worked for Children’s Hospital- Chadwick Center with children and families who were high risk in parenting groups. I also worked with teen mothers and their babies there. I worked special event childcare including watching the Padre’s players’ children during baseball games. I worked respite caring for children with special needs. I was a nanny and worked at a Family Home Daycare. I also worked for a catering company – that was my one job that did not involve children. I also volunteered in a nursing home, regularly visiting a sweet lady who did not have any family.

After graduating from SDSU I went to Pacific Oaks College for my Masters in Human Development with an emphasis in College Teaching/Working with Adults. While getting my Masters I worked one job full time. I co-directed a license-exempt childcare center at a lavish fitness/sports club in Del Mar and created and ran enrichment classes for children. At that time I also volunteered on the labor/delivery floor of Pomerado Hospital.

After receiving my Masters I began teaching at Palomar College. I currently teach for CSUSM, Miramar and Palomar, and work for the Service Learning Department at Palomar College connecting students to volunteer opportunities at non-profits in San Diego that connect to their courses. Now caring for my two sons (ages 9 & 11) and teaching, and working takes up most of my time, but I enjoy helping others and I still try to do as much as I can fit in each day. A couple years ago I was a foster parent to 2 girls, ages 3 and 4. That was an eye-opening experience working with Child Welfare Services. I have my certification as a Post Partum Doula.

I mentor a teen mother, and I volunteer at my sons’ elementary school and for The Make A Wish foundation as a Wish Granter. In my free time (ha ha), I love visiting local amusement parks, camping at the beach, bowling, baking, playing tennis with my boys, and taking/teaching Trapeze lessons at Trapeze High. I enjoy performing.
I also twirl baton for special projects. I was in the movie Battle of the Sexes and spent a summer performing in a show called Luma Art in Darkness twirling a variety of lighted devices in Lake Tahoe. Here is my demo video Performing Artist Gina Wilson

 

What are you looking for?

A - Z Index