Palomar College Learning For Success
Menu

Faculty Directory

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Jennifer Backman

Humanities Bldg – Room 302I
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2397
jbackman@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, San Diego
M.A. The University of Chicago
Ph.D. Purdue University

No bio available.

Dr. Andrea Bell

Humanities Bldg – Room 301H
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2400
abell@palomar.edu

B.A. University of Wisconsin
M.A. Hunter College
Ph.D. City University of New York

Professor Bell’s teaching and research interests include contemporary memoir and creative nonfiction, literature of trauma, literature and psycho-dynamic theory, contemporary British and American fiction, and modern drama. She is working on a memoir, Touched, an early version of which was a finalist for the 2014 San Diego Book Award. Among the writers she returns to again and again in her teaching and research are James Baldwin, Virginia Woolf, Samuel Beckett, Lorrie Moore, and Toni Morrison. She has published on Samuel Beckett (Dictionary of Literary Biography and the journal, Central Park), and on Virginia Woolf (review of Louise de Salvo’s Virginia Woolf: The Impact of Childhood Sexual Abuse on her Life and Work). Professor Bell was the recipient of the 1995-1996 Palomar College Distinguished Faculty Award.

 

Dr. Abbie Cory

MD Bldg – Room 366
(760) 744-1150 ext. 3637
acory@palomar.edu

B.A. California State University, Long Beach
M.A. University of California, San Diego
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Cory’s academic interests include British and Irish literature, literature by women and LGBTQ authors, and poetry. Her composition classes are often taught through the lens of social justice issues and popular culture. Professor Cory is the Co-Director of the Palomar College Pride Center and the Co-Chair of the Palomar College Committee to Combat Hate and also serves on the Student Services Planning Council. She has published in the journals Intertext, Women’s Studies, and New Hibernia Review.

Dr. Brent Gowen

Humanities Bldg – Room 302O
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2399
bgowen@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, San Diego
M.A. San Diego State University
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Gowen’s favorite genre of writing to teach, to read, and to write is the essay. As much as he appreciates novels, encyclopedia entries, stories, user manuals, poems, newspaper and magazine articles, plays, and song lyrics, he is most intrigued by essays—especially those written by his students. His current research interest is place names—and placing names in a theory of language. Mostly, he is looking into California place names.

Dr. Richard Hishmeh

Humanities Bldg – Room 302K
(760) 744-1150 ext. 3638
rhishmeh@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of California, Riverside
M.A. University of California, Riverside
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Professor Hishmeh’s teaching and research interests include Rhetoric, American Literature, Poetry, and Film and Visual Culture. His scholarship has appeared in journals including,  Modern Language Studies, The Journal of American Culture, the Hemingway Review, and various edited volumes. He is also the co-author (with Jason Spangler, Riverside City College) of the textbook, Writing Up: Reading and Writing for College Readiness (BVT 2016). Professor Hishmeh has served as a member of the Pacific Ancient and Modern Language Association’s (PAMLA) Executive Committee (2014-2017), and he is the recipient of Palomar’s Faculty Senate Award for Scholarly and Professional Achievement, 2016. For his complete CV and additional information, please visit his website (see link above).

Dr. Martin Japtok

MD Bldg – Room 353
(760) 744-1150 ext. 3994
mjaptok@palomar.edu

M.A. Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany
Ph.D. University of California, Davis

Professor Japtok is the author of Growing Up Ethnic: Nationalism and the Bildungsroman in African American and Jewish American Fiction, editor of Postcolonial Perspectives on Women Writers from Africa, the Caribbean, and the U.S., and, with Professor Rafiki Jenkins, of Authentic Blackness/”Real” Blackness: Essays on the Meaning of Blackness in Literature and Culture and has published essays in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. He was Professor of the Year at West Virginia State University from 2000-2003 and is also co-author of the 8th edition of Inside Writing and the 6th edition of The Writer’s Response: A Reading-Based Approach to Writing.

Dr. Jerry “Rafiki” Jenkins

MD Bldg – Room 362
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2287
jjenkins@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, San Diego
M.A. University of California, San Diego
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Jenkins is Professor of English and Multicultural Studies at Palomar College in San Marcos, California. He teaches courses in composition, critical thinking, literature, African American Studies, and Multicultural Studies. His research focuses on African American speculative fiction and film. He has presented papers at the annual conventions of the Pacific and Ancient Modern Language Association, South Atlantic Modern Language Association, National Association of African American Studies, and the Popular Culture Association. His articles have been published in Screening Noir and African American Review, and he is the co-editor (with Martin Japtok) of Authentic Blackness/Real Blackness: Essays on the Meaning of Blackness in Literature and Culture (Peter Lang, 2011).

Dr. Kevin Kearney

Humanities Bldg – Room 301E
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2399
kkearney@palomar.edu

B.A. Union College
M.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara

Professor Kearney’s teaching and research interests focus on contemporary literature and queer theory. His work has explored representations of futurity and apocalypse, speculative fiction, and (most importantly) how the humanities inspire creativity, demand discipline, and hone critical thinking. He is active with the Palomar Faculty Federation, the Committee on Political Education, the English Majors Group, the Basic Skills Initiative, and the Gender and Sexuality Alliance.

Dr. Barbara Neault Kelber

Department Chair
Humanities Bldg – Room 301L
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2402
bkelber@palomar.edu

B.A. University of San Diego
M.A. University of California, Riverside
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Professor Kelber welcomes every opportunity to talk about literature and composition. Working with students as they become better writers is her primary focus. Her research interests include Critical Race Theory, literature of the American South, and theories of “place” and spatial relations. She has recently completed a project relating to the body in place and memory. Professor Kelber has spent years in faculty leadership at Palomar, and she looks forward to whatever’s next.

Dr. Katherine Kelp-Stebbins

English 10/50 Coordinator
Humanities Bldg – Room 301O
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2342
kkelpstebbins@palomar.edu

B.A. Wesleyan University
M.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara

Professor Kelp-Stebbins’ work examines comics and visual media as tools for rethinking world literature and for remapping transnational media flows. Her academic interests include comics studies, media studies, translation theory, critical race theory, post-structuralism, empire and postcolonialism, classics, and sports studies. Her work has been published in Media Fields, Studies in Comics and numerous anthologies. She pursues ethical and activist pedagogy and works toward social justice in her teaching.

Dr. Michael James Lundell

Humanities Bldg – Room 302M
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2719
mlundell@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of California, Berkeley
M.F.A. San Diego State University
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Lundell’s teaching and research interests include The 1001 Nights, late 18th-early 20th c. English literature (particularly the Victorian Period in a transnational context), Arabic literature, film studies and orientalism. His research has been published or is forthcoming in Adaptation: The Journal of Literature On Screen Studies, Interdisciplinary Journal for Germanic Linguistics and Semiotic Analysis, The Companion to Victorian Popular Fiction and The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. His monograph, The 1001 Nights: Paratexts of Empire, explores the postcolonial nature of the genesis and reception of the Nights.

Dr. Leanne Maunu

Humanities Bldg – Room 301N
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2288
lmaunu@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of California, San Diego
M.A. Indiana University
Ph.D. Indiana University

Professor Maunu specializes in British literature of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, with an emphasis on Romanticism and its connections to French writers from the same time period.  She has published articles on Frances Burney, Charlotte Smith, and Mary Shelley, and her book, Women Writing the Nation: National Identity, Female Community, and the British–French Connection, 1770-1820 (Bucknell University Press, 2007), explores the role of nationalism in the works of female Romantic writers. Some of her more recent research interests include exploring the role of violence in literature and the contemporary Gothic novel. Besides teaching Palomar’s composition classes, she also teaches Survey of British Literature I and II, Introduction to Shakespeare, Women and Literature, Literature through Film, and Violence and Literature. She is also one of the advisors for the English Majors Group.

 

Pam McDonough

Humanities Bldg – Room 302P
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2700
pmcdonough@palomar.edu

B.A. San Diego State University
M.A. San Francisco State University

No bio available.

Dr. Adam Meehan

Humanities Bldg – Room 302N
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2399
ameehan@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of California, Berkeley
M.A. San Diego State University
Ph.D. University of Arizona

Professor Meehan specializes in modernist fiction, the novel, and critical theory. He has published recently in Journal of Modern Literature and the Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism, and is currently working on a book that shows how modernist fiction anticipates theories of subjectivity that have been attributed to the rise of so-called postmodern theory in the late twentieth-century. He also runs the Palomar College Great Books Seminar.

Dr. Fergal O’Doherty

Humanities Bldg – Room 301I
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2970
fodoherty@palomar.edu

B.A. State University of New York, Stony Brook
M.A. City University of New York
Ph.D. City University of New York

Professor O’Doherty began his studies at the Convent of Mercy in Derry, The Christian Brothers school in Derry, and St Columb’s College, also in Derry. He attended the State University of New York, Stony Brook (B.A., honors) and the City University of New York (M.A. and Ph.D.).  He is passionate about reading memoir, poetry and drama in his classes. He is also passionate about serving developmental writers from underserved backgrounds, such as International Students, older students, LGBTQ students, and disabled students. He believes that Palomar’s greatest strength is its diversity and the faculty’s commitment to servicing all sectors of our community.

Dr. Deborah Paes de Barros

Humanities Bldg – Room 301M
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2835
dpdbarros@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, Los Angeles
M.A. University of California, Irvine
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Professor Paes de Barros is intrigued by road literature—especially the literature of the American road, and by women’s literature, poetry and literary theory. As a lover of the novel, chocolate and coffee she is pleased that she was not born before the eighteenth century. Her own work includes the books Fast Cars and Bad Girls: Nomadic Subjects and Women’s Road Stories (Peter Lang, Inc., 2004), On Kevin’s Boat and Other Poems (Blue West Books, 2013), and a variety of other essays and poems.

Dr. Jon Panish

Humanities Bldg – Room 302H
(760) 744-1150 ext. 5551
jpanish@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of California, Los Angeles
M.A. University of Iowa
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

No bio available.

Dr. Clare Rolens

Humanities Bldg – Room 302L
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2710
crolens@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
M.A. University of California, San Diego
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Rolens’ work focuses on crime and detection narratives in twentieth century American literature and film, with a sub-specialization in prison literature. She works especially with the role of identity passing in the crime narratives, exploring how ambiguous identity and social mobility are both criminalized and celebrated in U.S. culture. Her article “Write Like a Man: Chester Himes and the Criminal Text Beyond Bars,” examining censorship of same-sex sexuality in prison literature, appeared in Callaloo: A Journal of African Diaspora Arts and Letters; her essay on absurdity and race in prison writing is forthcoming in the collection New Chester Himes Criticism. Her teaching interests include popular culture, gender studies, representations of the U.S. prison system, medical ethics, and passing/cross dressing in fiction and film.

Dr. Carlton Smith

Humanities Bldg – Room 301G
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2196
cksmith@palomar.edu

B.A. University of California, Los Angeles
M.A. San Diego State University
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

No bio available.

Dr. Craig Thompson

Writing Center Director
Humanities Bldg – Room 302J
(760) 744-1150 ext. 3330
cthompson@palomar.edu

B.A. San Diego State University
B.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
M.A. University of California, San Diego
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

With the exception of works by Shakespeare and Hemingway, Professor Thompson is interested in all types of literature and cinema.  He has published on Bruce Sterling (Science Fiction Studies), Native American oral literature (Studies in American Indian Literature), Zane Grey (Journal of the Southwest), and other topics. His two current obsessions are westerns (he is attempting to write one himself), and Yasujiro Ozu, whom he believes to be the greatest director of all time. He also has a long history of attempting—but failing—to summit Mt. Whitney.

Dr. Stacey Trujillo

Humanities Bldg – Room 301K
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2572
strujillo@palomar.edu

A.A. Chaffey College
B.A. San Diego State University
M.A. University of California, San Diego
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Professor Trujillo’s teaching and research interests focus on multi-ethnic and underrepresented voices in U.S. American Literature. Specifically, she specializes in multi-ethnic Latino/a literatures of immigration and migration and the diverse literature of U.S. empire. These areas of literature specialization also inform how she approaches critical thinking and composition courses. As a whole, her courses emphasize primary source analysis and she encourages students to push their analysis to engage with larger questions of privilege/oppression, race/ethnicity, and gender/sexuality.

Dr. Rocco Versaci

Humanities Bldg – Room 301F
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2971
rversaci@palomar.edu
Visit my website

B.A. University of Illinois
M.A. Indiana University
Ph.D. Indiana University

Professor Versaci has been a member of the English Department at Palomar since 1997. From 2000 – 2018, he served as Co-advisor for Bravura, the college’s award-winning literary journal, and he is currently one of the advisors for the English Majors Group. In addition to teaching composition and basic skills courses, his academic interests are creative writing, 20th Century American literature, memoir, film, and comics/graphic novels. He is the author of This Book Contains Graphic Language: Comics as Literature (Bloomsbury, 2007) and That Hidden Road: A Memoir (Apprentice House, 2016). More information is available on his website (see link above).

Sue Zolliker

Humanities Bldg – Room 301J
(760) 744-1150 ext. 2562
szolliker@palomar.edu

B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. San Diego State University

Professor Zolliker teaches composition and humanities and is particularly interested in integrating firsthand experience with reading, writing, and traditional research.  Her travel-related projects include walking several hundred miles along medieval pilgrimage routes in France and Spain and, most recently, traveling around the Mediterranean, mostly on sailing ships, exploring Homer’s Odyssey.

Part-Time Faculty

InstructorE-mail Address
Jenna Alzonajalzona@palomar.edu
Robin Avnerravner@palomar.edu
Lori Balelmillerbale@palomar.edu
Leslie Beswick lbeswick@palomar.edu
Katherine Buffington kbuffington@palomar.edu
Will Burkewburke@palomar.edu
Sarah Burnssburns@palomar.edu
Larry Checketthchekett@palomar.edu
David Cowperdcowper@palomar.edu
Michelle Dalrymplemdalrymple@palomar.edu
Will Dalrymple wdalrymple@palomar.edu
John N. DeGennaro jdegennaro@palomar.edu
Donna Fazio Di BenedettoDFaziodibenedetto@palomar.edu
Sarah Faulkner sfaulkner@palomar.edu
Chris Fellcfell@palomar.edu
Gayle Fenghfeng@palomar.edu
Cynthia Fillmorecfillmore@palomar.edu
Cheryl Fostercfoster@palomar.edu
Joe Fuhrmann jfuhrmann@palomar.edu
Matthew Griffing mgriffing@palomar.edu
Sonia Gutierrez sgutierrez@palomar.edu
Richard Hannonrhannon@palomar.edu
Kyle Hetrickkhetrick@palomar.edu
Jen Yong Hojho@palomar.edu
Ingrid Jayneijayne@palomar.edu
Opal Johnsonojohnson@palomar.edu
Benedict Jonesbjones@palomar.edu
Christina Kennedyckennedy@palomar.edu
Emily Kingeking@palomar.edu
Lisette Lasaterllasater@palomar.edu
Mari Loppmlopp@palomar.edu
Merry Marianommariano@palomar.edu
Diane Martin dmartin2@palomar.edu
Bryan McCulley-Mendozabmcculleymendoza@palomar.edu
John McGuinnessjmcguinness@palomar.edu
Elaine Minamideeminamide@palomar.edu
Blaine Mogilbmogil@palomar.edu
Katie Montagna kmontagna@palomar.edu
Allie Moreno amoreno@palomar.edu
Raymond Morrisrmorris@palomar.edu
Magda Moustafa mmoustafa@palomar.edu
Kathleen Nelsonkmnelson@palomar.edu
Megen O'Donnellmodonnell@palomar.edu
Bruce Ortonborton@palomar.edu
Victor Perezvperez1@palomar.edu
Jennifer Pilchjpilch@palomar.edu
Donna PotratzDpotratz@palomar.edu
Mary PronovostMPronovost@palomar.edu
Zachary Pughzpugh@palomar.edu
Ronald Reedrreed@palomar.edu
Brandon Reynoldsbreynolds@palomar.edu
Monica Rodriguezmrodriguez1@palomar.edu
Erin Rossierossi@palomar.edu
Alejandra Sanchezasanchez2@palomar.edu
John Schellenbergerjshellenberger@palomar.edu
Ronald Smithrsmith@swc.cc.ca.us
Glenda SnellGSnell@palomar.edu
Ross Talarico rtalarico@palomar.edu
Linda Thowsen lthowsen@palomar.edu
Shannon Walesswales@palomar.edu
Steve Waszakswaszak@palomar.edu
James Wenzell jwenzell@palomar.edu
Elsie Wilburn ewilburn@palomar.edu
Sean Wilkinsonswilkinson1@palomar.edu
Syndee Woodswood@palomar.edu
Kim WolfeKWolfe@palomar.edu
Gary Zacharias gzacharias@palomar.edu

What are you looking for?

A - Z Index