Can I apply for California State Disability Insurance?
Classified/Administrators/CAST/Full-Time Faculty: Employees have access to their accrued sick leave and if needed the extended illness leave which is 100 days of 1/2 pay leave that runs concurrently with sick leave. Each employee handbook gives more detail regarding sick leave accrual. If an illness or injury exceeds the 100 days the employee would work with Human Resources to evaluate the ability to return to work or apply for long-term disability insurance.
What Leaves does Palomar College offer?
The information below is a summary of the District’s negotiated provisions. For detailed information, please review the Agreement or Handbook for each employee group: Administrators, Classified Staff, Confidential and Supervisory Team (CAST), Full-time Faculty & Child Development Teachers.
Sick Leave – An employee is required to notify the supervisor, or designee, when unable to report to work due to illness. A Doctor’s note is due to Human Resources when an employee is expected to be off work more than five (5) consecutive workdays. If the District has reasonable suspicion of illness or injury, a Doctor’s note may be required as proof for less than five (5) consecutive workdays. A Doctor’s note from a follow-up exam releasing the employee to full-duties is required after being off work for the five (5)+ working days.
Pregnancy Leave – An employee needs to complete a Family Medical Leave form (see Forms on HR site) and submit to the Benefits Specialist (x2889) in Human Resources (ST-1) at least one month prior to the employee taking time off from work due to the pregnancy. FMLA and PDL (Pregnancy Disability Leave) will run concurrent for the first part of the pregnancy leave (in accordance to the State and Federal laws). CFRA (California Family Rights Act) can be used for baby bonding time off – typically used after the Doctor releases the employee from pregnancy care.
Family Care Leave – This leave is intended to comply with the Federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), and California Family Rights Act (CFRA). Thirty (30) calendar days (or 5 workdays from learning of the facts) prior to an employee learning that he/she needs time off from work due to a personal injury/illness or to care of an immediate family member, the employee needs to notify the District. An employee will be asked to complete a Family Medical Leave form or a Personal Leave form – see HR website under Forms. A Certification of Health Care Provider Form and the Leave form needs to be submitted to the Benefits Specialist in Human Resources (ST-1).
All leaves have maximum time limits – please review the Agreement or Handbook for each employee group for details. Please contact the Benefits Specialist (x2889) at the Human Resources office with any questions.
I'm having a baby, and I need information on taking leave.
How many days am I allowed for bereavement leave?
Can I take a loan against my 403(b)/457 retirement savings account?
What benefits are offered to Part Time Faculty?
My claims aren't being paid correctly, who do I contact?
Can I add my parents to my benefits? I'm supporting them now.